Skip to content

Looking back on the last year

August 30, 2012

I just realised that it’s been a year since my last post–clearly time for another one!  It’s been a busy few months and the upcoming schedule looks to be no less hectic, as I’m currently working on a series of artworks as part of a Canada Council for the Arts Project Grant that I received in Spring.  This generous funding by the Canadian Government allows me to work on a new body of sculptural work, some parts of which are in production already and others which will be developed over the next few months.

Beyond this, I’ve had the good fortune to be part of several exhibitions recently, including the CUBE Open in Manchester (at which my work received a commendation), Digital Romantics (curated by David Hancock at the Crossley Gallery, Dean Clough), There is Thunder in Our Hearts (aspex Gallery, Portsmouth), Standpoint Open (QuayArts, Isle of Wight), and the Bar Lane Studios Open (Bar Lane Studios, York).  I would especially like to thank Danny Cameron for his support and for offering me a solo show at Bar Lane Studios in March, and for putting me in touch with the great network of artists at Bar Lane, York’s contemporary art hub. Upcoming exhibitions include Reincarnation at London Print Studio (as part of the London Design Fair 2012) and POP! at Marburae Art Gallery in Macclesfield.

Also I would like to thank curator Rose LeJeune, Matthew de Pulford and Jake Taylor for helping to coordinate the exhibition of my Creative Campus Initiative artwork Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger at the Kent Games in Canterbury this upcoming November.

My wife Dr Sara Perry and I moved up to York at the beginning of 2012 as Sara won a permanent lectureship at York University in Cultural Heritage Management.  I had to say goodbye to the great crew at the Arches Studios in Southampton, and have now moved to the excellent Patrick Studios in Leeds, where I’ve been located since February.

Other notable moments over the last year include presentations at the Henry Moore Institute in Leeds (thanks especially to Kirstie Gregory for including me in the panel) and the John Hansard Gallery in Southampton.  I also want to say thank you to the Ethnographic Terminalia team (Kate Hennessy, Fiona McDonald, and Trudi Smith) for their support and for commissioning my work for their most recent show in Montreal (in November 2011).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

